Villa melzi d eril
Villa Melzi D'Eril
In 1808 Francesco Melzi D'Eril commissioned the architect Albertolli to design his summer residence Villa Melzi D'Eril along with a vast park. The villa was completed two years later, built in Bellagio, also known as the "Jewel of the Lake", with neoclassical, simple and severe lines virtually devoid of decorative elements. The park bears the design of an English garden and neoclassical, Renaissance, Egyptian and Etruscan-Roman sculptures are scattered among its green trees. The interiors were also decorated in detail and the most talented upholsterers, painters and sculptors were hired for their decoration. In fact, paintings by Appiani and sculptures by Canova are housed inside Villa Melzi D'Eril.
In a unique way, Villa Melzi is pleasantly nestled into the surrounding landscape, in harmony with the shoreline of Lake Como despite its severe, neoclassical appearance. Today, the villa is owned by the Gallarati Scotti family and not open to visitors. However, the gardens remain open to the public, so don't miss the opportunity to see them during the warmer months of the year.