Fortress of Soncino

Fortress of Soncino

Fortress of Soncino IAT Soncino

The Fortress of Soncino, in the province of Cremona, was converted - with the Stampa family feoffment in 1536 – into the residence of the marquis family by closing the ramparts to make the rooms and the south- east tower for the private chapel.


The last member of the Stampa family bequeathed the ancient fortress in ruins to the City of Soncino in 1876, which was subsequently restored by the architect Luca Beltrami.


The rescue bridge in the countryside was built in 1912 and the drawbridge in 1957.


A unique feature of the Fortress of Soncino is the cylindrical tower positioned in the area to the south.


The tower is divided into seven sections: the observatory on the highest part of the tower, just below the level of the battlements, followed by the floor of the ramparts and the treasure room, until you reach the ground floor.


The basement rooms are found in the last two sections: while the first underground level is still in existence and remains accessible even today; it is not certain if the second underground level ever actually existed.


Other important features are the two drawbridges, one was a walkway and the other a carriageway for entering inside the fortress, which also leads to a courtyard with a well in the centre.


The role of the drawbridges was crucial because, in the event of an attack and conquest, the ravelin could be easily isolated once they were lifted.


Follow us